• Banner 02


Welcome to Rob Weightman’s private archive collection of the Glory Years of South African motorsport (1990 to 2006). Remember your registration & financial contribution will ensure more tapes will be converted to digital files which will be added to the existing catalogues. This will also ensure that the programs are made available to you and saved in a digital file format for posterity. Enjoy your 12 months of un-restricted cyber viewing. Remember you can communicate with us on Facebook.

Our private archive collection consists of the following categories

  • Modified saloon car racing was a carry-over from the 80’s. Drivers like Hennie vd Linde, Tony Viana, Ben Morgenrood, and Willie Hepburn would design, build and drive these monsters. Known as the “Rolling Thunder” of motorsport they were the crowd pleasers. When the SA Touring cars arrived in 1993, the four Modified Saloon car classes dwindled and a new Wesbank SAMCAR V8 series was launched at the start of the 1995 season. Running in two classes the V8 cars gave a new meaning to the term “Rolling Thunder” and the cream of the SA drivers were drawn into the SAMCAR V8 series.

    Total programs: 112

  • A strictly controlled and close to standard motor sport format was launched by Dave Clapham in the late 80’s. The cars ran a coastal and inland duel series which came together for a six-hour race in December. In the early 90’s after becoming a national series, a new professional attitude with generous vehicle manufacture budgets and meaningful Stannic sponsorship saw huge fields on the grid. Who could forget the BMW 3 series of Tony Viana and Deon Joubert door to door with Mike Briggs and Roddy Turner in their Opel Astras. With five classes an entry list of seventy cars became the norm and Group N racing became the nursery school for many SA motorsport champions into the future.

    Total programs: 96

  • In 1993 Dave Clapham launched the SATCAR series. Based entirely on the European and British Touring Car regulations. The BMW and Delta motorsport teams literally imported their race cars from Germany and the UK. Toyota and Volkswagen were slow starters, building their Sprinters and VW Jettas locally. A sprinkle of privateers joined this elite category eventually becoming the bulk of class B. In 1995 the VW racing team replaced the Jetta’s with two Audi A4 Quattro’s and it wasn’t long before Terry Moss and Chris Aberdein were standing on the winner’s podium. In 1997 Nissan arrived with an extremely strong team headed up by engineer Glyn Hall. Giniel de Villiers scored a double win on their debut event. Giniel went on to win the championship four years in a row. In the final event of the 2000 season BMW and Audi withdrew their involvement and the SATCAR series sadly imploded there and then.

    Total programs: 24 & 49 to follow

  • In the early 90’s the Motorcycle category was a mixed bag of classes with no real obvious Champion. In the mid 90’s Motorcycle racing reformatted into a single 600cc production based class. Riders like Russell Wood and Robbie Peterson returned to the sport and the seasons that followed saw many worthy champions. Riders like Greg Dreyer, Trevor Crookes, Brad Anassis, Arushen Moodley and Steward Macleod all made their mark. The 2004 season had the riders move from 600cc machines to bigger and more powerful 1 000cc bikes. Younger riders like Hudson Kennaugh and Sheridan Morias moved up the score sheets, with Kennaugh taking the 2004 championship and Russell Wood hanging up his helmet. In 2005 young Sheridan Morias becomes the SA Superbike champion.

    Total programs: 88

  • Rallying in South Africa has always had its own kind of magic. In the 90’s following the international “death zone” era of rallying, the world took a step back and adopted a less aggressive formula and the motor industry realized the marketing value of the sport. Well organized and well sponsored events gave these “works teams” a window of opportunity to show off or prove their products. The smaller and less powerful format saw the sponsored teams fielding more cars and together with the privateer entry the sport reached new heights.
    Unfortunately my involvement ended at the end of 1995 when the TV rights were sold and has over the years, resulted in the sport in SA becoming all but extinct.

    Total programs: 43

  • Single seater racing cars have a strong heritage in South Africa. From hosting Formula 1 events over the 70’s and early 80’s to a Formula Atlantic local championship. Formula Ford was adopted internationally as a stepping stone up to the top championships and was one step above Formula V. With a choice of imported chassis and reliable Ford engines, the Formula Ford category has stood the test of time. Many young motor-sportsmen cut their teeth in these cars, preparing them and helping them launch their racing careers.

    Total programs: 38

  • When the Formula V category was withdrawn from the national championships in the mid 80’s, the loyal VW drivers looked past the Formula Ford option and designed the Formula GTi. The design featured a locally built slick single seat chassis, a powerful VW GTi multi-valve power plant, slick racing tyres and added downforce with front and rear wings. This was real racing not just looking the part, but clocking very competitive lap times at tracks around the country. These cars needed technical input which separated the men from the boys.

    Total programs: 29

  • These aggressive Sports cars evolved from the Sports 2000 known affectionately as the “flat-pigs”, when MSA bought up the cars for their BEE program. The new Sport Prototypes were an American concept, using a Dodge engine. These were strong well-built sports cars with rear wings and great down force designed into the body work. In the late 90’s the association up graded the cars in unison replacing the American motors with the highly successful Nissan V6 race prepared engines. These up-graded Sport Prototypes provided great motor racing and many worthy champions over the years.

    Total programs: 24

  • As a one make saloon car series, the Polo Cup formula was started in 1997 as part of the SA National Championship. Using a striped down Polo 1 body with an 8 valve 2 000 cc motor, the series became a “real racing” formula for the enthusiast with limited personal budgets. Volkswagen Motorsport helped with body and parts at discounted prices. Drivers were helped with travel and starting money. With the cars so equal, the driver talent was really tested. In the 2002 season Tschops Sipuka won the Polo Cup Championship becoming the first Black SA motor racing champion.

    Total programs: 22